Topic: Search Function (1 of 5), Read 34 times, 1 File Attachment
Conf: VEDIT Suggestions
Date: Friday, July 09, 2004 04:35 PM

I have been using VEDIT for the past 8 - 9 years starting from version 5... to current version. It's a wonderful product.

I used VEDIT in conjunction with my mainframe tasks. And there is a nice feature in ISPF which would benefit VEDIT users like me.

The new feature would be the highlighting of all the matching strings (which could be turned on/off, color set up thru the config menu) in the screen for the string being searched. Meaning the search function will still work normally as it is currently with the cursor being positioned in the first occurrence from the original cursor position while at the same time the rest of the matching strings are also highlighted. This feature will save me from having to do search again to find the next occurrence since I will be able to see all the matching strings in the screen at a glance.

Thanks

Ooops! I need to add that the matching strings remains highlighted whether I page up or down and can only be turned off (the highlighting) using a reset command or something.

Thanks again.

jpeg file

Topic: Re: Search Function (2 of 5), Read 25 times
Date: Sunday, July 11, 2004 10:48 AM

At 04:25 PM 7/9/2004, you wrote:
>I used VEDIT in conjunction with my mainframe tasks. And there is a nice feature in ISPF which would benefit VEDIT users like me.

This has been one of the most frequently mentioned suggestions for many years. I just have not seen any easy way to implement this within VEDIT architecture. However, I am well aware of it.

Ted.

Topic: Re: Search Function (3 of 5), Read 26 times
Date: Sunday, July 11, 2004 01:25 PM

On Sun, 11 Jul 2004 10:48:00 -0400, Ted Green wrote:

>At 04:25 PM 7/9/2004, Tony Gaw wrote:
>And there is a nice
>feature in ISPF which would benefit VEDIT users like me.
>
>This has been one of the most frequently mentioned suggestions